How to pass ITIL exams?

Vendor: ITIL

Certification Overview

ITIL believes that IT services must complement business needs. It must also help the business’s main functionalities or processes. ITIL provides the right direction to companies and employees on use of IT to help in times of business growth and change. ITIL incorporates industry best practices and these are evolved around ITIL Service Strategy, Service Transition, Service Design, Service Operation and Service Improvement. These five core areas are called ITIL Service Lifecycle.

ITIL is a popular approach to Service Management function of IT and many renowned companies like NASA and Walt Disney Corporation has already adopted it. ITIL is continuously evolving; so the latest method of Service Management is always applied. ITIL certifications are in great demand in today’s IT industry. Both foundation level and expert level courses are available. Foundation level ITIL certification course provides the basic concept of ITIL infrastructure and its terminologies. The qualifications scheme of ITIL identifies credentials that add value to the industry best practices of ITIL. These are known as ITIL Complementary Qualifications Scheme. Candidates get credits from these complementary certifications and these credits are forwarded towards expert level certification of ITIL. ICTIM, BCS Specialist qualifications, SGF, ASL2, etc. are included in the ITIL Complementary Qualifications Scheme. ITIL Change Management or ITIL v3 Change Management certification is part of the BCS Specialist qualifications. The ITIL Change Management certification lets transition occur in services smoothly, without any disruption. This certification provides the candidates with the knowledge and experience on how to use the process of Change Management throughout the organisation’s services.

Who need to do this certification?

The ITIL Change Management certification creates opportunities for the following job posts:

  • Change Managers
  • Deployment and Release Managers
  • Configuration Managers
  • Infrastructure Managers
  • IT Managers
  • IT Directors
  • Network Managers


Individuals become skilful in ITIL Change Management best practices. This certification is very beneficial for those professionals who are involved in Change Management of IT services. Change Management ITIL framework or Change Management ITIL v3 framework provides better adjustment of services to business needs.

The Change Management Process ITIL framework allows better assessment of risks. It also makes sure that quality of services is not negatively affected. This leads to better problem management. Certified individuals benefit from the fact that more businesses are now realizing the need to change. Companies are adopting ITIL best practices. So, employers are constantly looking for expert professionals who can take the company efficiently through the ITIL Change Management process. More job opportunities are now available with lucrative salary and incentives for certified professionals. This certification open doors for achieving higher expert level certifications.

Associated Exams

Passing a written exam is necessary for fulfilling the requirements of the ITIL Change Management certification.


Before appearing for the ITIL Change Management certification, candidates must pass the ITIL Foundation certification.

Examination Overview

The ITIL Change Management process or ITIL v3 Change Management process ascertains that defined methods are used in order to handle changes within the organization more efficiently. Change Management in ITIL makes service changes according to customer’s needs without causing any disruption to work. The ITIL Change Management definition also entails that changes must be aligned to the business requirements.

Changes that are needed to be made are formally placed in a system so that it can be considered. There is a Change Advisory Board which reviews the request. The board then calculates all the risks associated with the change before finalising their decision.

The ITIL Change Management certification exam has the following objectives:

  • Understanding of the major ITIL processes required for transition
  • Enhance the positive outcome of changes
  • Make sure that Change Management responds quickly to business needs without being biased
  • Make necessary changes without causing risk of businesses
  • Ability to plan changes in advance
  • Ability to manage different risks expertly
  • Ensure less risk due to changes in service

ITIL Change Management ppt slides are available online from which overview of this topic can be found. Candidates must have a very good knowledge on the ITIL v3 Change Management process flow before appearing for the exam.

Validity of certification

Like other ITIL certifications, the ITIL Change Management certification is valid for a lifetime. The candidates only need to pass the exam once, and then there is no requirement for recertification.

Expert Review

As more things change they tend to stay the same. So change should be made when needed without thinking too much about the consequences.

Bob Denver

Change Manager, Intasoft Ltd.

Liverpool, UK.

Related IT Guides

  1. ITIL Certification
  2. ITIL Certification Path
  3. Pass ITIL Certification Exam

October Campaign! Get 30% Discount on All Your Purchases!

This is a ONE TIME OFFER. You will never see this Again

Instant Discount


30% OFF

Enter Your Email Address to Receive Your 30% OFF Discount Code. All Exams!

A confirmation link will be sent to this email address to verify your login.

* We value your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address.